‘Triangle Of Sadness’ Takes Palme d’Or – Deadline

'Triangle Of Sadness' Takes Palme d'Or - Deadline

UPDATE, Refresh for latest…: Swedish filmmaker Ruben Ostlund led one of his now trademark primal screams inside the Palais tonight as his latest film, Triangle Of Sadness, was crowned with the Cannes Film Festival’s Palme d’Or. This is the second time Ostlund has won the prestigious prize, following 2017’s The Square.

Ostlund tonight joined an elite group of filmmakers who have taken two Palmes, including the Dardenne brothers who were awarded a special 75th anniversary prize this evening for their Tori And Lokita.

Contrary to the wild and wacky closing ceremony of last year’s Cannes Film Festival, tonight’s event was a very straightforward affair.

Triangle Of Sadness was acquired by Neon for North America earlier this week. In Deadline’s review, Stephanie Bunbury called it “a mission statement about equality: that it doesn’t exist, that it cannot exist, that while calamity may bring the downfall of the top dogs, new curs will replace them and behave in exactly the same way. ”

Winners also included the much lauded Close from young Belgian filmmaker Lukas Dhont who tied for the Grand Prize with veteran Claire Denis and her Stars At Noon.

Also, notably, Korea again fared well. Park Chan-wook was anointed Best Director for Decision To Leavewhile Japanese veteran Hirokazu Kore-eda’s first Korean-language movie, Brokertook the Best Actor prize for Parasite’s Song Kang-ho.

Before presenting the awards, Jury President Vincent Lindon made a notable shoutout when he suggested that the panels should get a longer run, “We need four more years!” Said the beloved French actor to great applause.

PREVIOUS: The 75th Cannes Film Festival draws to a close tonight as the main awards, including the Palme d’Or, are soon to be handed out in the Palais. Scroll down for the list of winners which is being updated as prizes are announced.

This edition of the fest was a return to normal after two years of Covid wreaked havoc with the event – canceling it in 2020 and moving it to July in 2021.

There were 21 films in the competition this year, including from high-profile helmers like David Cronenberg (Crimes Of The Future) and James Gray (Armageddon Time) as well as Hirokazu Kore-eda (Broker) who took the Palme with 2018’s Shoplifters. All were well received.

Buzz for gongs tonight is perhaps highest on such titles as Lukas Dhont’s CloseChan-wook’s Park Decision To Leavetwo-time previous Palme winners the Dardenne brothers with Tori And Lokita and 2017 Palme laureate Ruben Ostlund’s Triangle Of Sadness.

While Triangle Of Sadness may have been somewhat divisive, and Valeria Bruni Tedeschi’s Forever Young largely excoriated, in general, the competition movies found supporters during the past two weeks which were awash in sun-dappled starry red carpets.

Not eligible for prizes this evening are high-wattage out-of-competition premieres including Baz Luhrmann’s Elvis and Tom Cruise-starrer Top Gun: Maverick; the latter treated to a fireworks display and French fighter jets soaring above the Palais – the film is currently soaring at the global box office.

The Cannes jury this year is led by French actor Vincent Lindon, supported by Rebecca Hall, Deepika Padukone, Noomi Rapace, Jasmine Trinca, Asghar Farhadi, Lady Ly, Jeff Nichols and Joachim Trier. Let’s hope no one pulls a Spike Lee and announces the Palme d’Or winner early as was the case last year.

Annually, the outcome here in Cannes is anything but predictable, and Lindon’s jury could go in any direction. We’ll know more in just a little bit, so check back as we update the winners below:

Palm tree
Triangle Of Sadnessdir: Ruben Ostlund

Grand Prize (TIE)
Stars At Noondir: Claire Denis
Closedir: Lukas Dhont

Best Director
Chan-wook Park, Decision To Leave

Special 75th Anniversary Prize
Tori And Lokitadirs: Jean-Pierre Dardenne, Luc Dardenne

Jury Prize (TIE)
EOdir: Jerzy Skolimowski
The Eight Mountainsdirs: Felix Van Groeningen & Charlotte Vandermeersch

Best Actor
Song Kang-ho, Broker

Best Screenplay
Tarik Saleh, Boy From Heaven

Best Actress
Zar Amir Ebrahimi, Holy Spider

Golden Room
War Ponydirs: Riley Keough & Gina Gammell

Room d’Or Special Mention
Plan 75dir: Chie Hayakawa

Short Film Palme d’Or
The Water Murmursdir: Jianying Chen


Best Documentary
All That Breathesdir: Shaunak Sen

Special Jury Prize
Mariupolis 2dir: Mantas Kvedaravicius

Brokerdir: Hirokazu Kore-eda

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.